Curriculum - Learning Areas


 Curriculum Overview and Organisation

The St Peter’s School Curriculum is comprised of connected and discrete programs derived from available Diocesan, state and national documents. While Religion, English and Mathematics are taught in discrete units of work, teachers are encouraged to look for opportunities to connect with other key learning areas. The Australian Curriculum and Reporting Authority (ACARA) is responsible for the development of the Australian Curriculum from Prep to Year 12. The Australian Curriculum is the foundation for curriculum programs in the Learning Areas of English, Mathematics, Science, History and Geography.
Learning Areas
The key learning areas for students at St Peter are
  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • History
  • Geography
  • Physical Education and Health
  • The Arts (Music, Visual Arts, Media, Drama, Dance)
The learning areas of Health & Physical Education and Music are taught by specialist teachers.